LOCAL PATIENT SAFETY "HEROES" RECOGNIZED by Indianapolis Coalition for Patient Safety Inc.

Representative from member hospitals recognized for commitment to safety culture, positive impact on patients, and sustainability.

The Indianapolis Coalition for Patient Safety recognized the winners of its 2010 Patient Safety Hero Awards at its annual luncheon on November 23, 2010. The awards are given to individuals or groups at each member hospital that have championed a specific patient safety project. The seven winners include:

• Patricia Owens, Hendricks Regional Health, Danville

• Shelley Voelz and Dr. Douglas Johnstone, St. Francis Hospitals and Health Centers, Indianapolis

- Wishard Health Services PCA medication administration team
- Roudebush VA Medical Center's acute and critical care committees
- Clarian Health's pressure ulcer prevention teams (Methodist Hospital, Riley Hospital for Children, Indiana University Medical Center)

• Community Health Network's MRSA reduction teams (North, South, East, The Indianapolis Heart Hospital)

• Beverly Reed, St. Vincent Indianapolis Hospital